Shambhu’s “Dreaming of Now” – Production Process

As I approached recording Dreaming of Now, I recalled the excitement I felt performing live at East-West Bookstore in Mountain View, CA and wanted to recreate the freshness of a live performance on my next CD.

Adam Muñoz and Shambhu at Fantasy Studios

In July 2012 I booked a weekend at Fantasy Studios, Studio D, in Berkeley, CA with myself producing and Adam Muñoz as recording engineer.

Joining me were the world’s best instrumentalists: George Brooks (sax), Kai Eckhardt (bass), Frank Martin (piano) and Celso Albert (drums). We recorded 12 songs over two days and had an incredibly fun weekend together.

In the Fall I invited percussionist Jeff Haynes (who recorded on my debut CD Sacred Love), to add percussion to those 12 tracks from his own home studio in Beacon, NY. Grammy-winning recording engineer Corin Nelsen, who did the honors on Sacred Love, engineered Jeff’s sessions.

In October 2012, I took all the tracks to Imaginary Road Studio in Windham County, VT, the home of Grammy Award-winning producer Will Ackerman and recording engineer Thomas Eaton. We re-recorded all the acoustic guitars and added cello – with Will Ackerman producing. Over a week’s time, we redid guitar on 8 songs, added Eugene Friesen’s cello to 4 songs, and I also flowed three new songs (Sanctuary, Dreaming of Now and Searching) live in studio – that appear on Dreaming of Now.

By December 2012, Thomas Eaton completed the first rough mix, which was so impressive that I added Tom as co-producer along with myself and Will Ackerman.

In early 2013, I met Will Ackerman at Entourage Studios in North Hollywood, and we recorded violinist Charlie Bisharat on two songs with Will Ackerman producing.

By summer I was hearing keyboard and string  pads for many of the songs. So I got together with keyboardist Frank Martin, featured throughout the CD, who graced the songs with gorgeous tones that completed them. Celso Alberti, who played drums on almost the entire CD, engineered that very fun session.

Going into summer 2013, I spent months working with the tracks in my own studio producing Jeff Oster (flugelhorn) on Devodance and adding electric guitar solo to Starbucks Landing with Todd Boston engineering. The final recording session was with Premik Russell Tubbs who added wind synth to the title track, Dreaming of Now and Jasmine.

Once we had all the tracks done, the final mix happened at Imaginary Road Studios over a week’s time working with Thomas Eaton and Will Ackerman.

This summer, Tom mastered Dreaming of Now at Thomas Eaton Recording in Newburyport, MA… and then we were done. Two years in the making, and almost three years to the day when Sacred Love was released.

Top two photos by Mario Covic. MarioCovic.com

Will Ackerman / Imaginary Road Studio – WilliamAckerman.com

Thomas Eaton Recording – ThomasEaton.com

 

