Song Notes: “Call to Spirit”

I met the gifted drummer Narada Michael Walden in my early 20s. We played music together, became friends and Narada invited me to learn meditation with his teacher, Sri Chinmoy, the Indian mystic with was also teaching John McLaughlin and Carlos Santana. Within a year I became one of Sri Chinmoy’s students and after 2.5 years, I was given a spiritual name, Shambhu.

“Call to Spirit” is a contemplative and soul-elevating piece that is an homage to the idea that music can be a vehicle for deep soulful expression. A chant invokes the goodness and blessings that surround us and enables our physical being to resonate with the flow.

You can hear percussionist Jeff Haynes, flutist Ravichandra Kulur and cellist Eugene Friesen performing in studio as the piece evolves at Imaginary Road Studio in Vermont with producer Will Ackerman and recording engineer Corin Nelsen.

